Public Document Pack



Please reply to: Darryl White Service: Strategy & Commissioning Direct Dial: (01803) 861247

E-mail address: Darryl.White@swdevon.gov.uk

Date:

Dear Councillor

WEST DEVON COUNCIL - TUESDAY, 9TH JUNE, 2020

I refer to the agenda for the above meeting and attach papers in connection with the following item(s).

Agenda No Item

8. Political Composition of the Council (Pages 1 - 8)

Dated this 1st of June 2020

Steve Mullineaux Deputy Chief Executive

Yours sincerely

Darryl White Senior Specialist – Democratic Services

Encs



Agenda Item 8

Report to: Council

Date: 9 June 2020

Title: Revised Political Composition of the Council

Portfolio Area: Leader – Cllr Neil Jory

Wards Affected: All

Urgent Decision: N Approval and Y

clearance obtained:

Date next steps can be taken: Immediately

following this meeting

Author: Darryl White Role: Senior Specialist –

Democratic Services

Contact: darryl.white@swdevon.gov.uk or 01803 861247

RECOMMENDATION

That, with immediate effect:

- 1. the revised political composition of the Council be noted as follows:
 - Conservative Group: 15 Members;
 - West Devon Alliance Group: 15 Members; and
 - Non-aligned Independent: 1 Member; and
- 2. the appointments to the formal Council Bodies be amended as illustrated at Appendix B for the period until the next Annual Council meeting; and
- 3. Cllr J Yelland be appointed as Vice-Chairman of the Standards Committee for the period until the next Annual Council meeting.

1. Executive summary

- 1.1 On 26 May 2020, the Council received formal notification from Cllr Davies that, with immediate effect, he had resigned from the Conservative Party and it was his intention to become a 'Non-aligned Independent' Member of the Council;
- 1.2 Cllr Davies' decision has had implications on both the political balance and, as a consequence, the appointments to formal Bodies of the Council.

1.3 This report requests that the Council amends the membership of some of its formal Bodies to reflect the revised political balance.

2. Background

- 3.1 At its inaugural remote meeting on 21 April 2020, the Council adopted a set of Remote Meeting Procedure Rules (Minute CM 71 refers);
- 3.2 Paragraph 3.1(a) of the adopted Rules states that:
 - 'While these Remote Meetings Procedure Rules apply, the Council will not hold an Annual Meeting.'
- 2.3 Irrespective of this decision, the changes to the political composition of the Council have had a minor impact on the political balance table (as outlined at Appendix A) that requires addressing;
- 2.4 Both Group Leaders have been invited to submit their nominations in line with the amended political balance table and these are set out at Appendix B (with the revisions highlighted in red font);
- 2.5 As a consequence of these nominations, there is a vacancy to the role of Vice-Chairman of the Standards Committee. Both Group Leaders have also been invited to submit their nominations to this role and one nomination has subsequently been received for Cllr Yelland to be appointed.

3. Outcomes/outputs

3.1 The Council is asked to note its revised political composition and, with immediate effect, approve the consequent nominations to its formal Bodies.

4. Options available and consideration of risk

4.1 Failure to apply the rules of political balance could render a formal Member Body of the Council to be unlawful. However, this risk is mitigated by the revised nominations list at Appendix B.

5. Implications

Implications	Relevant to proposals Y/N	Details and proposed measures to address
Legal/Governance	Y	Sections 15 and 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 set out the political balance rules for the allocation of formal Committee seats.

Financial implications to include reference to value for money	Y	There will be no financial implications linked to this report.						
Risk	Y	The risk implications are set out at Section 4 above.						
Supporting Corporate Strategy	Y	Council Theme – Efficient and effective						
Comprehensive Im	Comprehensive Impact Assessment Implications							
Equality and Diversity	N	N/A						
Climate Change & Biodiversity	N	N/A						
Safeguarding	N	N/A						
Community Safety, Crime and Disorder	N	N/A						
Health, Safety and Wellbeing	N	N/A						
Other implications	N	None						

Appendices:

A - Revised Political Balance table; and

B – Nominations to the formal Member Bodies of the Council (proposed revisions illustrated in red font).

Background Documents:

Council Constitution; and

Summons and Minutes arising from the Remote Meeting of the Council held on 21 April 2020.



Political Balance: May 2020

Total number of seats subject to political balance: 51 seats

Conservative Group entitlement = 15/31 (48.4%) 24.68 (25 seats)

Non-aligned Group entitlement = 15/31 (48.4%) 24.68 (25 seats)

Non-aligned Independent Member entitlement = 1/31 (3.2%) 1.64 (1 seat)

	Total Entitlement	Hub Cttee	O&S Cttee	Audit	DM&L	Standards	DNP	Invest to Earn Comm	(Check)
(15) Con	25	4/5	7/8	3	5	2/3	1	1/2	25
(15) Indy Group	25	4/5	7/8	3	5	2/3	1	1/2	25
(1) Indy N/A	1			1					1
Total	51	9	15	7	10	5	2	3	51



Members of the Bodies of the Council for 2020/21

A. Audit Committee

E. Overview and Scrutiny Committee

Cllr K Ball Cllr A Bridgewater

Cllr M Davies Cllr M Renders

Cllr P Ridgers Cllr P Vachon

Cllr J Yelland

Cllr T Bolton

Cllr A Coulson

Cllr P Crozier

Cllr L Daniel

Cllr M Ewings

Cllr N Heyworth

Cllr S Hipsey

Cllr C Kemp Cllr P Kimber

Cllr D E Moyse

Cllr C R Musgrave

Cllr B Ratcliffe

Cllr T Southcott Cllr J Spettigue

Cllr L Wood

B. Dartmoor National Park

F. DM and Licensing Committee

Cllr D E Moyse Cllr R Cheadle

Cllr M Renders Cllr P Crozier

Cllr S Hipsey

Cllr C Mott

Cllr D E Moyse

Cllr T G Pearce Cllr B Ratcliffe

Cllr M Renders

Cllr P Vachon

Cllr J Yelland

Substitutes:

Cllr T Bolton

C. Hub Committee (+ portfolio area)

Cllr N Jory (Leader)

Cllr L Samuel (Deputy Leader)

Cllr R Cheadle (Enterprise)

Cllr C Edmonds (Resources and Performance)

Cllr A F Leech (Health and Wellbeing)

Cllr J B Moody (Customer First)

Cllr C Mott (Environment)

Cllr T G Pearce (Communities) Cllr A Bridgewater

Cllr D K A Sellis (Homes) **CIIr M Ewings**

Cllr N Heyworth

Cllr C Kemp

Cllr P Kimber D. Invest to Earn Committee

Cllr R Musgrave

Cllr D Sellis

Cllr T Southcott

Cllr L Samuel

Cllr R Cheadle

Cllr C Edmonds

G. Standards Committee

Cllr T Bolton

Cllr A F Leech

Cllr C R Musgrave

Cllr B Ratcliffe

Page 7 Cllr J Yelland

